The start of a new beginning (college edition)

In the beginning of 2015 I have once again landed myself as an enrolled full time college student. This year is different from the last. In 2014 I have completed 42 credit hours and graduated with my Associates in Science at the age of 20. Starting bright and early tomorrow morning I will be considered a college slave to my studies to complete my Associates in Art. During my experience since the beginning of this year, I have over come many obstacles that spontaneously happen to land in my path. I have learned a handful of lessons in my first six months as a full time student, such as:

  1. As a student and work study  it is not possible to study during work hours
  2. Social media is a major distraction (Deleted all major accounts)
  3. Getting involved with others who do not share the same aspirations is only a distraction
  4. Procrastination is not my friend
  5. Study from the textbook and lecture notes
  6. Always bring a jacket and water to class
  7. Switching back and forth between on a major is normal
  8. Sitting in front of the class is helpful not hurtful
  9. The gym and I will be needing some time apart from each other
  10. Be observant, a phenomenal listener, and think before making decisions. This quote has a lot to do with number 10 – “”Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.” – Plato.”

I have concluded that making simple changes in my daily life will not demolish my foundations of built self esteem and knowledge. These simple changes that have been addressed will be a successful start to my lovely, agonizing, stressful, sleepless, and anxiety filled college term. My school, work, and home schedule for this fall is stuffed like a turkey on Thanksgiving. With handling four classes this term and a part time job, my thought on picking up an additional class might be out of the question. Pssh! Who am I kidding? I am thinking about taking a natural science class as well.

Who knows, maybe I will enroll myself into GER1120 and buy a plane ticket sometime next year.

Reflective questions:

  • What is your current GPA?
  • What class do you enjoy the most?
  • Did you switch and day classes for night? (Do it before drop/add)
  • What are some distractions?

P.S.

I have not gone to bed yet (it is almost 6am.)

Leave a Reply

